AVIS RENT A CAR - HEAD OFFICE

1.7 18 Reviews
Company name
AVIS RENT A CAR - HEAD OFFICE
Address
3 BRABAZON ROAD, CROYDON, P.O. BOX 221 1600., Isando, Gauteng, South Africa  View Map
Phone
(011)-923-3500
Fax
(011)-923-3501

Reviews

1.7

18 Reviews
Write a Review
1.0
Avis claim Department- HW76PYGP Claim number: 20/1016807
Where is the delay to process the payment for the claim, must I wait another month?
I am seriously not happy with your customer service.
I have to always follow up, no calls unless I call, no email unless I send one.
Is this how AVIS operate, I will escalate this matter I have waited very long.

waited for the claim to be settled, accident happened on the 05.12.2019 and today is the 28.01.2020- waiting.
1.0
Unresponsive Crooks
Over the holidays i rented an eco sport, very happy with the vehicle and decided to keep it 4 extra days.Phoned avis 7 times no answer then i called their head office was put through to someone that can assist me but phone was put down twice in my ear. Now they are charging me R6000 for 4 days because of their incompetence. Highway robbery
1.0
Extremely disappointing
After someone collided with our Avis rental while it was parked in the private parking area of a guest house in Bellville, we still have received no back pay from Avis after 8 months. The guilty party paid for damages and it was also billed against my credit card.
1.0
FRAUD
Avis O.R. Tambo, tell my why you have fraudulently taken money out of my credit card?!!! I was in the middle of making an inquiry and request to extend my car rental and your phone got cut off. Instead of the operator obtaining my 2 contact numbers from my invoice and calling me back, she went ahead and made a purchase using my credit card details WITHOUT MY AUTHORISATION NOR CONFIRMATION!!!! This is FRAUD! RA no: 831236210. Fix it! Today alone, I have been hung up on by a member of your team because they did not want to deal with the issue anymore. I don't owe you calmness when money has been taken out of my credit card without my authorization nor confirmation. It is not the job of Avis sales staff to take rightfully upset and angered customers personally but your job to listen, investigate and come back with a fair resolution to your fraudulent blunder. I am now waiting for some supervisor to get back to me tomorrow. First and last time.
1.0
Glenn Kirkwood-Eales in Avis Midrand Van rental keeps thumbs sucking the cost of rented van
Terrible service, Glenn Kirkwood-Eales(avis van rental sales agent) kept gave me random high amounts of how much I needed to pay to settle, I asked him for a proper breakdown of costs. He kept beating about the bush, telling I have to come swipe my card for the false amounts that he was giving me
1.0
Scam
I rented a car in Cape Town ( from the airport).. It was pouring with rain ( good thing for Cape Town) so didn't go over the car with a fine toothcomb..
When I got in.. The tire pressure light was on.. and the petrol level was at 3/4.. I took a picture because this was the first time in my many years of renting from Avis.. that clearly the car hadn't been prepared for rental ( a MBZ.. so not cheap)..
I had the car for less than 24 hours.. into town to my aunts house in Constantia.. and back to the airport the next day..
When I returned the car.. was told there was a small dent above one of the doors ( how that damage would even happen is a bit of a mystery ) .. but certainly not on my watch or rental time..
I explained ( and provided a photo of the petrol level and tire pressure light.. taken 2 minutes after my contract pick up time) that the damage was not mine.. and was charged about $500 ( or R6000) for the damage.. this is no way to run a company..
Disgusted..party of one..
Reply by Lolo Maphatsoe
22 Aug, 2019
I experienced something similar also from the cape town airport. I am never using Avis/Budget again.
Reply by NoBuntu
28 Oct, 2019
This is so reassuring guys. They always like to act like you don't know what took place and that they need to tell you what actually happened without challenge. NO. We are not our grand-parents. NEVER EVER AGAIN!
1.0
overcharged
I hired a car through Avis car rentals, I was charged $2016.54 for a two day car hire that should of cost $254.
I am still waiting for the overcharged funds to return into my account.
I will never do business with Avis car rental again
1.0
AVIS shocking Treatment
I was a victim of a hijack on Wednesday the 25th of October 2017. I have a rental included with my insurance.

I received a call from AVIS to state that they can deliver a vehicle for me. I had to ask them what will I need as I was hijacked and everything was taken. "O, no drivers licence we cannot loan you are car" Surely these things are asked or communicated beforehand.

I Got my temporary licence which took an entire day - my own problem I know.

Then advised the insurance they can make the arrangements.

Again i got a call from AVIS. I asked again what will I need. I was told a credit card or X Amount. [Please note again .. I was hijacked and everything taken].

I was told they could not deliver it, I had to make a plan to get to the Isando branch and pick it up.

Upon arrival and after filling in forms, I was told that they would not accept my husbands credit card without him signing for it. Why not ask a person who has just been through a horrific experience EXACTLY what is required. Then I was told that someone can take me to draw money - "I was hijacked ..... no one understands the ordeal I went through. Now you want ME to get into a car with a stranger to go draw money?!!"

No compassion. No understanding. Not even so much as trying to clam me. Nothing. Just did not care at all.

They [the manager at the branch as well] ignored me at first and then just let me go stand outside to wait for my husband.

Such shocking treatment. It disgusts me. Being hijacked and thrown out of your car is no laughing matter but AVIS staff just DON'T CARE!!!! They are rude, no compassion, don't care at all, did not even apologise for their behaviour or even asked to sit while they try sort sort it out. Nothing!!

I will NEVER again use AVIS or recommend them to anyone.

Challenge anyone to query this.
1.0
After being a victim of South Africa's escalating crime rate, where I physically watched my car being stolen while walking towards it outside the company I work, I encountered and am still encountering challenges relating to AVIS Car hire. Fortunately, which is at the time I thought, that my insurance cover included car hire.
I was able to fetch a car from AVIS, but after having this car for a day, realised that the air conditioner was not working at all, this being the month of November where our heat ranges from 25 to 35 degrees, I returned the car , to my aggravation and was given a new car.
The above is the least of my worries.
I am at log aheads with AVIS, as the deposit that I had paid on the 30 October 2016 has still not been refunded to me. I had swiped my debit card, and the bank has confirmed that this money was definitely not reversed or refunded, I have made several calls to both the bank and AVIS and am caught up in the middle.
The bank has advised that I log a dispute that I have done, and now I am liable to the bank for R52-00 as an extra and above service fee, which is not my fault and I believe that AVIS should reimburse me with my deposit of R1350-00.
AVIS is completely and utterly disinterested at this stage, it may not seem to be a lot of money to AVIS, but this is my money and the charges and deposit should be reimbursed to me
On Friday the 13th January I was so upset and aggravated almost 2 months later, that I called the head office and spoke to Zodwa, who is an Executive PA, she agreed that this had already taken too much time and this should have been resolved long ago.She was going to get a perosn to contact me, a lady had contacted me by the name of Melissa, and said that she was looking into it for me, and these seems to be an error on their side, she will get back to me later on Friday, if not on Monday , Monday has come and gone and today is Tuesday, still nothing!!!

Is there an Ombudsman that I should escalate to?
This issue has to be resloved today, and by all means I am not threatening AVIS, but this is going to be escalated!!!!
This is unacceptable and absolute lack of customer service!!!!
1.0
We recently hired a vehicle in East London to travel to Cape Town over five days. The first car an Audi was dirty inside and had wires hanging from the console. The M Benz replacement, at times a harrowing drive; turned out the rear shock absorbers were broken. They had rented a non roadworthy vehicle to us.
Discussion with the Manager at the East London office resulted in being told it's up to previous renters to notify them of any damage to the vehicle i.e.: the broken shock absorbers!!
When did customers become mechanics? What about the duty of care of a hire car company to provide safe vehicles?

We were given a BMW for the remainder of the hire contract and agreed on a form of compensation. However on returning the vehicle to CapeTown Airport in the same condition we had received it, we were advised that an assessment of some damage to the rear bumper upon return was holding up the crediting to the cardholder!
After sending photos of the Condition Report of the BMW clearly showing the damage prior to our period with the car, all of a sudden the damage report was voided.
We are still waiting for the agreed compensation to be credited.. Their slogan of people first and vehicles second may need to be readdressed. Contract No: 432522473 FYI
See All 18 Reviews

Questions & Answers

4
Questions
Ask a Question
Oabile Sebogodi
10 Feb, 2020
Can you please give me the HR email address please
Reinet Bekker
20 Feb, 2018
I would like to buy an Avis franchise. Who do I talk to?
Mark
27 Feb, 2017
PlanB offers R300 flat fee paint rate incl vat 40 dealer approved panel shops on our network. Fleet owners pay a monthly membership fee of R8.25 we don't charge for labour.
View all 4 questions

Company Details

Location map
3 BRABAZON ROAD, CROYDON, P.O. BOX 221 1600., Isando, Gauteng, South Africa Get Directions
Description
Avis Rent a Car is South Africa's leading car rental company, its success underpinned by the Brand Ambassador programme. Each staff member has made a personal commitment to exceed customer expectations at every interface. Destinations include Cape Town, Johannesburg, Durban, Port Elizabeth, Garden Route and other cities, towns and international destinations.
Working hours
Add hours

Verified business

AVIS RENT A CAR - HEAD OFFICE - company profile is confirmed by company owner / representative person / directory administrator.
Last update: October 2018 - View Status

Update Info
REPORT LISTING

Related Companies to AVIS RENT A CAR - HEAD OFFICE


VALUE GROUP

49 BREWERY ROAD, 1600, Isando, Isando

RUNTONG CARS SOUTH AFRICA

13 Birkenhead Road,Table View,7441, Cape Town, Western Cape
4.2
5 Reviews

Cape Town 4x4 Trailer Hire

Montague Drive, Montague Gardens, Montague Gardens, Western Cape
5.0
2 Reviews

Johannesburg Truck Hire

32 Witkoppen Road, Fourways, Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa, Randburg, Gauteng
5.0
1 Review

Soweto Transport Services

41B MOSHOESHOE STREET,ZONE 2,MEADOWLANDS, Johannesburg, Gauteng
5.0
1 Review

Zeigen Tours & Safaris

50 Van Dalen Road, Ruimsig, Roodepoort, Gauteng
5.0
1 Review

WoodFord - Business Car Hire Service Durban

34 Hunter Street, Durban North, North West
5.0
1 Review

Happy Landings Executive Chauffeurs & Transfers

Suite#127, The Business Centre, 1 Bridgeway Road, Bridgeway Precinct, Century City, 7441, Cape Town, Western Cape


Back to top